Child pages
  • Mac Software Update Server
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

This service has been discontinued. These instructions will help revert your computers back to Apple's software update servers.

Reverting Clients to Apple's update servers

Local computer using Terminal

  1. Open Terminal.app
  2. Enter: 

    sudo defaults delete /Library/Preferences/com.apple.SoftwareUpdate CatalogURL

Remotely using Apple Remote Desktop

  1. Open Apple Remote Desktop.app
  2. Select the computer or a group of computers
  3. Select "Send Unix Command..." from the Manage menu
  4. Enter: 

    sudo defaults delete /Library/Preferences/com.apple.SoftwareUpdate CatalogURL
  5. Select the User option and enter: root
  6. Send command

Remotely using Workgroup Manager (on managed computers)

  1. In Workgroup Manager, click Preferences.
  2. Make sure the correct directory is selected and that you are authenticated. To switch directories, click the globe icon. If you are not authenticated, click the lock and enter the name and password of a directory administrator.
  3. Select a computer group.
  4. Click Software Update.
  5. Set the management setting to Never.
  6. Click Apply Now.
  7. It is recommended to run a script to also delete the com.apple.SoftwareUpdate file per the above instructions. 

Reference: http://support.apple.com/kb/HT4069

  • No labels